African Union (AU)

The African Union (AU) is an intergovernmental organization whose membership includes the 54 states of the African continent. The AU grew out of the Organization of African Unity and was established in 2001. With a broad agenda, the AU addresses issues related to food security, agriculture, peace and security and political issues. It engages on land issues through its support for the Land Policy Initiative, which is a joint initiative with the UN’s Economic Commission for Africa (UNECA). Through the LPI, the AU co-sponsored the 2010 Framework and Guidelines on African Land Policy. USAID and the U.S. Government, through the Feed the Future initiative, supports the AU’s Comprehensive Africa Agriculture Development Program (CAADP) as well as other important work undertaken by the Union.

The AU’s vision for Africa is the establishment of an integrated, prosperous and peaceful continent, that is driven by citizens and serves as a dynamic force in global affairs. It is composed of an Assembly, Executive Council, Commission, Permanent Representatives’ Committee, Peace and Security Council, and Pan-African Parliament. The Commission provides day-to-day management of the AU and through the LPI, engages on land issues. The LPI works to identify key land issues and challenges across the continent. It supports consultations and consensus building among stakeholders over this contentious issue. Promoting regional convergence around what constitutes sustainable management of cross-border resources and good governance in land, the LPI develops and shares best practices related to land governance in the African context.